Happy Holler Conservation Area

Please remember, if you want to see these posts take on bigger, badder, and better places to donate to my crowdfunding campaign to see/blog/make art in National Parks.  www.gofundme.com/carpartment

Happy Holler will end up being two posts because I didn’t even get to see the actual lake on this round.  I camped down by the One Hundred and Two River (creative naming, right?) on tract 2.  The space is better for a late arrival, as the whole lot is covered in sun in the daytime. The space, however; is beautiful.  A small pond sits to the other side from the river, giving some good hiking around both bits of water.  I did arrive late, so I was only able to do some superficial hiking, planning my route for the morning time.  But I noticed, even in my short wandering, that some of the plants had a very Burton-esque feel to them, which made me look forward to my morning hikes.  

One of the thing which made the campground fun was a swam which lived in the pond directly to the south.  I managed to get a photo at both dusk and dawn, and the change in the colors really made the shots worthwhile.

I’m a little disappointed in the clarity of the shots, but a telephoto lens can only do so much across a large lake with a lot of reflections.  The reflections make the shots nice as well, not my favorites, but also not my least favorites.  Of course since I was camping by a river, I had to get some pictures of it as well, however the veiws available were lackluster at best and getting to the riverbed below them was fairly impossible (the hike down was nearly vertical).  The moon the nigh was beautiful, and very easy to photograph (which if you have ever tried to take a picture of the moon, you will know its not fanatstically easy) thanks again to the telephoto lens.  

Spent a long evening speaking with another camper named Ron.  Spoke of many different things, learned each others families and great and terrifying life events, and drank beer until late at night. Ron had a cot and slept under the stars, a beautiful practice.  It was apparently a smallmiracle we hadn’t met before since he frequents the places that I also enjoy going to.  After a short nights sleep, it was morning time, and time to set out!  The first hike I took was long, disappointing, and wet.  Most of the trail had thigh tall grass still covered in dew, my shoes were soaked and squishy early in, and didn’t improve the rest of the hike.  It alternated between grassland and forest, and unfortunately neither of which were very photogenic.  I snapped a couple shots during the whole walk, only one of which was worth keeping.  

Soaked and exhausted 3 hours later, I returned to the carpartment only to have a minor panic attack over whether or not I had lost my car keys (I hadn’t, they were just in the wrong pocket), whether I would have to break into my own car, whether I would hike to the road because I didn’t have cell phone service to call a locksmith, and many other possibilties.   When I did finally find my keys, I had a small laughing hysterics fit over not having to follow on any of those options.  I changed clothes and considered going home, but due to my lack of photos decided to try the short trail on the other side of camp, which was photo-rich.  

After having thoroughly exhausted myself, and captured the photos I was looking for, I dragged my tired butt home to dry out.  

As always, thank you for reading and (hopefully) enjoying the photos and stories which I bring back with me.  Please consider donating to my crowdfunding campaign through the link at the top of the post so that I can bring you pictures and posts from the national parks of the western United States.  

Leave a Reply

